top of page
Search
Writer's pictureDex Emerson

SEE NO GOOD

Updated: May 29, 2020

May 5, 2020 at 4:26 AM

this is not self-pity although i pity my self,

now i know i'm no good apart from Your help;

never could have i realized how wretched is me

for i thought i've got it. oh could that be?

thought i could please you with the works i can do,

how foolish i am to think they're good too!

little to never that i would be able to know

that apart from Him those were rugs to You

without You leading me to open my eyes

to the fallen truth and masquerading lies!


the beautiful mask of this ugly world

started to fade and slowly unfold

to selfish desires and vilest motivation

with the kind of evil beyond comprehension!

oh i did say "i am nothing like them"

for i thought in my heart i have a good gem.

i was confident i am better, to say the least,

not knowing that confidence was truly a beast.

a pride who taught me to put myself first

but oh i know now it should be reversed!


i am not even worthy to sing You praise

yet on His merit You see my hands raised!

to the Lord and my King is the reverence

for between Him and me was a great severance

if it had not been bridged by His mercy and love,

a gift purely by grace from Your throne above!

even all my words could never describe,

could never explain or never transcribe

what happened that day He rescued my soul

from Your justice and wrath that's about to fall!


this bubbling i make is no good still

it is just what my limited mind could fill.

in simplest sense what i ought to say

is without Your grace i am nothing today!

yesterday's vapor-glory that i tried to win

is no good compare to what i will have in Him!

the more i see Him, the more i loathe me;

this vital truth took me ages to see!

i have made myself an idol and god

a foolish faith, no good, false and flawed!


oh how i pray and hope You'll let them see too

that the life we breathe is all about You;

that in this world we barely pass by

so we should know Christ before it's goodbye.

with all of our might i hope we'll learn to seek

not when we are old and already weak.

read and dig, read and dig continually,

we shall find the truth eventually.

for days fleeting and fading quickly

and what's done for His Name is what will count only.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page